Dankworth Prize Winners

A bit of Dankworth 1966 film music (Modesty Blaise) just to get you in the mood for the Dankworth Prize….

The winners of this year’s Dankworth Composition Prize have just been announced.

The winner of the prize for big band is Matt Roberts (Trinity College) for Unweaving the Rainbow.

The winner of the prize for 9-piece ensemble is Yuriy Galkin(RAM) for Evolvent.

The prizes of £1,000 each are donated by JazzOrg and by the Wavendon Foundation.

The judges were Tim Garland, Frank Griffith and Nikki Iles. The competition is organized by the Worshipful Company of Musicians

The pieces will be performed by The Trinity College Big Band directed by Malcolm Earle-Smith on March 24th. The gig will also include Mingus Ah Um and pieces by Stan Sulzmann and Kenny Wheeler.

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply