Breaking News: Musicians Benevolent Fund Peter Whittingham Award

All can finally be revealed.

One of the major prizes in British jazz, the Peter Whittingham Award, administered by the Musicians Benevolent Fund, has been won by World Service Project (Dave Morecroft, Tim Ower, Raphael Clarkson, Conor Chaplin and Neil Blandford). The group will use the £4000 prize to do a collaboration and touring project with Norwegian band Synkoke.

Development Awards were won by the Peter Edwards Trio -we liked their recent EP – and to JWJM Duo, consisting of Joe Wright (saxophones) and James Maddren (drums).

More details of the Peter Whittingham Award from the Musicians Benevolent Fund website.

WSP’s debut album “Relentless” is on Brooke Records and can be ordered by emailing worldserviceproject@yahoo.co.uk or via the group’s Myspace or Twitter.

Categories: miscellaneous

1 reply »

Leave a Reply