Nominations for 2011 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

The nominations for the seventh Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced. The awards are sponsored by PPL and produced by Jazz Services for the All Party Paliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group. Since the demise of the BBC Jazz Awards they have become the highest-profile awards in the UK.

Jazz Musician of the Year:

Brian Kellock
Django Bates
Jim Hart

Jazz Album of the Year:

Django Bates for Beloved Bird
John Turville for Midas
Norma Winstone for Stories Yet To Tell
Tim Whitehead for Colour Beginnings

Jazz Ensemble of the Year:

Brass Jaw
MY Duo -Jason Yarde/Andrew McCormack
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra

Jazz Promoter/Venue of the Year:

606 Club
Birmingham Jazz
Hideaway (Streatham- above))
London Jazz Festival
Scarborough Jazz Festival
Vortex Jazz Club

Jazz Journalist of the Year:

Alyn Shipton
John Fordham
Kevin Le Gendre

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year:

Alan Steadman
Helen Mayhew
Jez Nelson
Mike Chadwick
Paul Barnes

Jazz Publication of the Year:

Jazz UK
Goin’ Home: The Uncompromising Life and Music of Ken Colyer by Mike Pointon, Ray Smith and Martin Colyer

Jazz Educator of the Year:

Dr Ian Darrington MBE
Nick Smart
Professor Tommy Smith

Services to Jazz Award:

Coleridge Goode
Dr Ian Darrington MBE
Peter Ind

Categories: miscellaneous

1 reply »

Leave a Reply