BBC Introducing – four winners for Cheltenham announced

The four winning bands for the “BBC Introducing” showcase on a freestage at the Cheltenham Jazz , at 5.30pm on Sunday May 1st, have been announced:

Saltwater Samurai:
Luke Georgiou – Alto Saxophone
Alex Horky – Keyboards
Huw Bennett – Double Bass
Hugh Jones – Electronics
George Bird – Drums

Rachel Musson – Saxophones, composer (photo above)
Alcyona Mick – piano
Will Collier-bass
Javier Carmona and Josh Morrison- drums / percussion

We reviewed skein HERE

The Discordian Trio (from Edinburgh)
Jack Weir – guitar
Craig Macfadyen – bass
Richard Kass (21)- drums.

Trish Clowes

Trish Clowes– saxophone/ composer
Alex Munk – guitar
Calum Gourlay – bass
James Maddren – drums
Heidi Parsons – cello

Trish Clowes’ CD Tangent is on Basho

The four were picked by Jez Nelson, Gilles Peterson and Jamie Cullum from a longlist selected from the public entry by Somethin’ Else, producers of Jazz on 3.

Jazz on 3 will broadcast a highlights programme on Monday May 16th. The music will also air on Jamie Cullum (Radio 2), Gilles Peterson (Radio 1) and Stuart Maconie’s Freak Zone (6music).

To listen to the four bands, FOLLOW THIS LINK

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply