2011 Parliamentary Jazz Awards – Winners

Peter Bacon’s Jazzbreakfast blog was first with the complete list of all the nominees and winners.

Here are the winners:

Jazz Musician of the Year : Brian Kellock (above)

Jazz Album of the Year: John Turville Midas

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Brass Jaw

Jazz Promoter/Venue of the Year: Hideaway (London)

Jazz Journalist of the Year: John Fordham

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year: Paul Barnes

Jazz Publication of the Year: Goin’ Home: The Uncompromising Life and Music of Ken Colyer by Mike Pointon, Ray Smith, Martin Colyer

Jazz Education Award: Dr Ian Darrington MBE

Services to Jazz Award: Coleridge Goode

Special Appjag Award: Dame Cleo Laine (above with Norma Winstone, Juliet Kelly and Christine Tobin– Photo : Juliet Kelly).

Paul Gambaccini said that John Fordham had set the bar high for the standard of acceptance speeches. Spot on.

Categories: Uncategorized

8 replies »

  1. Seb – great to get there in recognition of your essential contribution to the jazz network and dialogue, which, one knows, is appreciated throughout the jazz/music community. And – looking at the final selections of winners and non-winners, there should be no cause for disappointment – LondonJazz is in good company! Well done! Any signs of a transcript/report of John Fordham's speech?


  2. I was sorry to miss this annual knees-up last night, and I’d love to hear / read John F’s speech.

    Congratulations to all the nominees and winners. Have the two famous Paul Barneses ever met? (The other co-designed the Guardian typeface.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s