Parliamentary Jazz Awards – 2012 Winners

Here is the LondonJazz Twitter feed of our live-Tweet of the 2012 Parliamentary Jazz Awards Results. They are listed in the reverse order of the announcements. There was an additional Special Award for Acker Bilk.

The awards were produced by Jazz Services, sponsored by PPL, held in the splendid Terrace Pavilion of the Houses of Parliament, by invitation of the All-Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group, and presented by Paul Gambaccini.

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


The band chipped in to the awards as they were handed out with a crisp, perfectly timed and to-the-point musical commentary: James Pearson (piano), Sam Burgess (bass), Pedro Segundo (drums) and Dave O’Higgins (tenor saxophone). The team from BBC Radio Scotland’s Jazz House were on hand to record.

 (last one) Winner of Musician of the Year congrats Bobby Wellins
 Winner of Jazz Journalist of the Year Jon Newey (cue cacophony from band)
 Winner of Live jazz award presented by Laurie Holloway to Spin Oxford
 Winner of Educator of the Year Gary Crosby OBE collected by 

Categories: Uncategorized

1 reply »

  1. To the poster(s?) of a couple of fairly negative comments on this post, we don't publish that kind of thing when it's posted anonymously. The music – and this site – try as much as possible to be about civilized interaction and dialogue rather than gratuitous slagging. Thanks for taking the trouble anyway.

Leave a Reply