Take Five : Europe participants announced

The ten 2012 participants for Take Five: Europe have been announced.

Take Five: Europe is “an exclusive programme for innovative composers, instrumentalists, conductors and vocalists embarking on significant international careers. Participants will have the chance to take ‘time out’ from their work to expand their professional networks and gain greater awareness of musical opportunities across Europe.” It is funded by the Culture Programme of the  European Union, and involves partners from the five participating European countries. The ten selected artists are:

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


Airelle Besson (France) trumpet/ flugelhorn /violin /composer/arranger/orchestrator

Arun Ghosh (UK) clarinettist/ composer /music educator

Chris Sharkey (UK) /educator /founding member of Leeds Improvised Music Association (LIMA).

Daniel Herskedal (Norway) tuba/composer

David Kweksilber(Netherlands)clarinet/ saxophone

Guillaume Perret (France) saxophone

Marcin Masecki (Poland) Piano/ composer

Marcos Baggiani (Netherlands, originally from Argentina) drums/ composer / producer

Per Zanussi (Norway) bass

Piotr Damasiewicz (Poland) composer/ trumpet/ and activist

Full biographies and details of the other nominees are on the Take Five Europe website

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply