Congratulations 2012 Yamaha Jazz Scholars

Huw Williams – 2012 Yamaha Jazz Scholar, RWCMD
Tonight’s the big night for the 2012 Yamaha Jazz Scholars, who receive their awards at Portcullis House in the Palace of Westminster. The scholars are:

Jonathan Davies, Leeds College of Music, drums

Matt Robinson,piano, Royal Academy of Music

Chris Maddock, alto saxophone, Birmingham Conservatoire;

Huw Williams (above), Royal Welsh College of Music& Drama

Alec Harper, Guildhall School of Music and Drama tenor saxophone

Ben Mallinder, Trinity Laban, tenor saxophone.

The prize consists of:

– £1000

– The chance to record tracks on the ‘The Yamaha New Jazz Sessions 2012’ promotional CD, sponsored by Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK),the cover-mount on Jazzwise magazine’s Xmas and New Year double issue

– The CD Launch gig at the 606 Jazz Club on 5th December.

The annual Yamaha Jazz Scholars scheme is jointly sponsored by Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK) in association with Jazzwise, Appjag, PPL and the 606 Club

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply