Preview: Elliot Galvin’s 17. BIG EGG, Thurs 18th October at the Chaos Collective Festival

Pianist ELLIOT GALVIN from the Chaos Collective previews a performance of his piece “17”, to be performed by a brand new twelve-piece ensemble BIG EGG, at the Spice of Life on Thursday 18th October as part of the Chaos Collective Festival.  Elliot writes:

The basement bar at the Spice of Life will be transformed into a hive of contemporary activity on the first night of the first ever, Chaos Festival. The Festival is a celebration of contemporary music and dance.

Thursday 18th will be the first performance of my brand new ensemble: BIG EGG, which features some of my favorite musicians, including Joe Wright on ewi and electronics; Lauren Kinsella – one of the most exciting vocalists I have ever heard, and special guest Joe Townsend on violin, who brings incredible depth into the music.

The piece itself is something I have been conceiving for the past year, and has taken a lot of work, but I’m very excited to be playing it, and very honored to have it played by these incredible musicians.

This is a short description of the piece:


This is not a piece about the number; rather its connotations.

Every movement is about a subject related to 17.

One obvious example is the movement ‘Apollo 17’.

Improvisation plays a key role, but I would not call the piece Jazz.

It is notated, but it does not rest in the classical cannon.

The musicians themselves are all at home in many musical worlds.

The idea is to create worlds of meaning that aren’t obvious.

The musicians follow the rules of each world and create within them.

The piece is formed from many musical languages coexisting.

Although I wrote it, I do not direct the work during performance.

The ensemble is split into a leader, and a follower group.

The leaders communicate with the followers to guide their actions.

Meaning comes from reason, religion, psychology and politics.

And it can change, because it does not exist; I wanted to show this.

However this does not mean that things do not relate to each other.

So I have tried to make all parts relate to the whole, including this.

Although, there are exceptions to the rules I have created for myself.

Line up – Elliot Galvin – piano/compositions
Lauren Kinsella – voice
Joe Townsend – violin
Joe Wright – ewi/electronics
Simon Marsh – reeds
Will Scott – reeds
Sam Rapley – reeds
Laura Jurd – trumpet
Mike Soper – trumpet
Conor Chaplin – bass
Corrie Dick – drums
Simon Roth – drums

Doors – 6pm, music from 8pm
Tickets – £8/5 students and advance bookings

Tickets from wegottickets


Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply