Jazz FM Awards 2013: Update and Nominees

Plans for the inaugural JazzFM Awards night at One Marylebone on Thursday 31st January are taking shape…

– Ian Shaw is hosting and will perform

– Ramsey Lewis will receive a Gold Award for Outstanding Contribution to Jazz and will perform.

– Ahmad Jamal will receive a Lifetime Achievement award and close the show with a 20 minute set – and a “surprise collaboration”

– Cerys Matthews will sing

– As will The London Youth Gospel Choir

*     *     *     *

The full list of nominees follows:

UK Jazz Artist of the Year (Public Vote)

Neil Cowley Trio
Jamie Cullum

International Jazz Artist

Kurt Elling
Brad Mehldau
Sonny Rollins

Cutting Edge Award for Jazz Innovation

Django Bates
Robert Glasper

Album of the Year

Robert Glasper Experiment: Black Radio
Keith Jarrett: Sleeper
Pat Metheny: Unity Band
Gregory Porter: Be Good
John Surman: Saltash Bells
Ryan Truesdell: Centennial (Newly Discovered Works of Gil Evans)

Jazz Media

AllAboutJazz.com (website)
Do The Math (website of Ethan Iverson of The Bad Plus)
Jazzwise (magazine)

Best UK Newcomer

Beats & Pieces Big Band
Josh Arcoleo
Roller Trio

UK Vocalist of the year

Carleen Anderson
Liane Carroll
Ian Shaw

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Nathaniel Facey (saxophonist with Empirical)
Ivo Neame (pianist with Phronesis)
Phil Robson

Live UK Shows of the Year

Gregory Porter
PB Underground

Best UK Jazz Venue

Band on the Wall
Café Oto
Ronnie Scott’s

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply