Preview: Green Chimneys festival 2nd-3rd May – Jazz Nursery / Con Cellar Bar

Dan Nicholls writes…

I’m really excited about the first in a series of Festivals curated by Green Chimneys, the listings magazine which Tom Challenger and I started up at the beginning of this year. True to the grass-roots, artist-led ethos of the publication, we’re hosting the two nights of the festival at The Jazz Nursery and Jazz at the Con – venues which have proved what can be achieved when artists club together and make something happen for themselves.

The first night – this Thursday at The Jazz Nursery in Southwark – features a new collaborative big band Noise Union, led by drummer Sam Jesson, which brings together musicians from the London and Birmingham scenes. The night will also feature the Con Afrobeat Orchestra and a late night jam session, led by the Nursery’s very own Nick Costley-White.

Friday night is another triple-bill, this time at the Constitution in Camden, opened by Gareth Lockrane’s Grooveyard Unplugged. Gareth is an old friend and one of the most fantastic flute players you’re likely to hear and we’re chuffed to be bringing his group to the intimate setting of the Con cellar. As if this wasn’t enough, this set is followed by Money Jungle – performing the raucous, joyous music of Mingus and Monk with unexpected twists and turns – and another late jam session featuring many of the festival performers. Tickets are available on the door for both events so arrive early!

Grooveyard (Unplugged)
Gareth Lockrane – flute
Alex Garnett – sax
Mike Outram – guitar
Nick Smalley – drums
Sam Lasserson – bass

Money Jungle
Tom Challenger – sax
Freddie Gavita – trumpet
George Crowley – sax
Mike Chillingworth – sax
Tom Farmer – bass
Dan Nicholls – piano
Josh Morrison – drums

Con All Stars
Dan Nicholls – piano
Tom Challenger – sax
Rory Simmons – trumpet
Phil Stevenson – guitar
Ryan Trebilcock – bass
John Blease – drums

Noise Union Big Band

Freddie Gavita
Reuben Fowler
Percy Pursglove
Laura Jurd

Patrick Hayes
Kieran McLeod
Richard Foote
Tom Dunnet

Michael Chillingworth
Huw Morgan
George Crowley
Chris Morgan
Colin Mills

The Rhythm Section:
Dan Nicholls – Piano
Callum Gourlay – Double Bass
Sam Jesson – Drums

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply