NEWS: Winner of inaugural BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year is Alexander Bone

Alexander Bone receiving the award

The winner of the first BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year Competition tonight in Cardiff was saxophonist/ producer Alexander Bone (17). Born in Darlington, he is currently in his first year of A levels at Chetham’s School. He has been part of both the National Youth Jazz Collective and the National Youth Jazz Orchestra.

The other finalists were: Jake Labazzi – Trumpet (16), Sean Payne – Saxophone (13), both fron the Purcell School, Freddie Jensen – Double bass (14) from Chetham’s. and Tom Smith – Saxophone (18).

The judges – who deliberated for most of an hour before announcing their decision – were Django Bates, Trish Clowes, Jason Yarde and Julian Joseph. Tonight’s competition will be broadcast on BBC4 TV on 23rd May. We previously covered the competition HERE

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply