NEWS: Nominations Announced for the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

The 2010 Winners with Michael Connarty MP and Fran Nervkla of PPL. Photo credit: Hayley Madden

The nominations for the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards have today been announced. The ceremony will be hosted by Moira Stuart, and there will be special guest performances from James Pearson and the Ronnie Scott’s All Stars (back by popular demand). The awards are now in their tenth year and are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group. (sponsored by PPL). The ceremony will take place at the House of Commons Terrace Pavilion on 13th May.

The Nominations Are:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year
Christine Tobin
Lauren Kinsella
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year
Arun Ghosh
Laura Jurd
Mike Walker

Jazz Album of the Year
Mark Lockheart ‘Ellington In Anticipation
Soweto Kinch ‘The Legend Of Mike Smith
Troykestra ‘Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Kairos 4tet
Sons of Kemet

Jazz Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Kinsella, Thought-Fox
Phil Meadows
Reuben Fowler Big Band

Jazz Venue of the Year
London Jazz Festival
Love Supreme Jazz Festival
Manchester Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award
Dizzy Gillespie Was At My Wedding: Jubilance and Woe’ by Dick Pearce
Jamie Cullum
LondonJazz News

Jazz Education Award
Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
John Ellis, Doncaster Youth Jazz Association
Leeds College of Music

Services to Jazz Award
David Redfern
Evan Parker
John Taylor

Congratulations to all the nominees. Sincere thanks to everyone who voted for us,  and/or has contributed to LondonJazz News, resulting in this, our fifth nomination in a row at these awards.

Categories: miscellaneous

1 reply »

  1. Congrats to London Jazz News and to all the other nominees.

    I was slightly puzzled by the absence of jazz venues from the “Jazz Venue Of The Year” category, until I remembered today's date…

Leave a Reply