JJA Awards (Musician Categories) Announced

The  winners of the 18th Jazz Journalists Association Awards – musician categories  – have been announced.  Herbie Hancock won a Lifetime Achievement Award, Wayne Shorter and Maria Schneider won three awards each. Cecile McLorin Salvant and Joe Lovano each won two.

Other winners were: The Randy Weston / Billy Harper duo,  Gregory Porter, Terence Blanchard, Roswell Rudd, Lee Konitz , Gary Smulyan,  Jane Ira Bloom,  Nicole Mitchell, Anat Cohen, Bill Frisell, Craig Taborn, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Christian McBride, Regina Carter, Pedrito Martinez, Gary Burton, Jack DeJohnette, Gregoire Maret and Jason Lindner

The reissue of the year was Miles Live in Europe 1969 (Columbia Legacy). Label of the year was ECM . The Awards ceremony will be on June 11th in New York, when the winners of the media categories and awards such as Jazz Hero will also be announced.

Sebastian is a voting member – FULL LISTINGS ARE HERE

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply