NEWS: Shortlists Published, Voting Open in 28th British Jazz Awards

The 2013 British Jazz Awards held in Birmingham

Online voting in the 28th British Jazz Awards, organised by Big Bear Music since 1987, has just opened: Voting is here. Closing date is 31st October. It appears that – presumably through lack of sponsorship – there will not be an awards bash this year. People are free to choose artists in addition to those short-listed:


Trumpet : Bruce Adams, Enrico Tomasso, Steve Fishwick, Steve Waterman

Trombone: Dennis Rollins, Ian Bateman, Mark Nightingale, Roy Williams

Clarinet: Alan Barnes, Julian Stringle, Mark Crooks, Pete Long

Alto Sax: Alan Barnes, Derek Nash, Pete King, Soweto Kinch

Tenor Sax: Art Themen, Karen Sharp, Robert Fowler, Simon Spillett

Piano: Dave Newton, Gareth Williams, Nikki Iles, Zoe Rahman

Guitar: Dominic Ashworth, Jim Mullen, Martin Taylor, Nigel Price

Bass: Alec Dankworth, Andrew Cleyndert, Dave Green, Len Skeat

Drums: Bobby Worth, Ralph Salmins, Seb Rochford, Steve Brown

Miscellaneous Instrument: Alan Barnes [Baritone Sax], Amy Roberts [Flute], Chris Garrick [Violin], Jim Hart [Vibraphone]

Vocals: Anita Wardell, Claire Martin, Liane Carroll, Tina May

Rising Star: Alan Benzie, Laura Jurd, Remi Harris, Reuben James

Big Band: Back To Basie, BBC Big Band, Beats & Pieces, NYJO

Small Group: Brassjaw, Digby Fairweather’s Half Dozen, GoGo Penguin, Tipitina

New CD:
Claire Martin- Say It Isn’t So (Linn)GoGo Penguin – v2.0 (Gondwana Records)
> Martin Taylor/ Alan Barnes – Two for the Road (Woodville)
Tina May – Divas (Hep)

Reissue CD
Chris Barber – 1959-60 (Lake)
Joe Harriott Quintet – Southern Horizons / Free Form / Abstract (Fresh Sound)
Stan Tracey – 3 Classic Albums (Avid)
The Jazz Makers & The Jazz Five (Fresh Sound)

Nominating panel: Anthony Colwyn, Bob Weir, Cole Mathieson, David Cottle, Dave Gelly, David Nathan, Denny Ilett, Dick Laurie, Fred Lindop, Gill Wilde, Jerry Brown, John Cumming, Liz Lincoln, Michael Pointon, Mike Gordon, Pablo Janczur, Peter Vacher, Roger Cotterrell and Ron Simpson.

We will not take anonymous comments on this post.

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply