NEWS: Chris McMurran and Ralph Wyld win 2015 Dankworth Prize

Tim Garland and the RCM Big Band in rehearsal
Photo Courtesy of Royal College of Music

The 2015 Dankworth Prizes for Jazz Composition have been won by Chris McMurran for his big band composition Continuum and Ralph Wyld for his small band piece Subterrranea.

Chris McMurran (left) receivng the prize from Alec Dankworth

The prize concert does the rounds of the conservatoires, and this year was held in the Britten Theatre of the Royal College of Music, with the RCM Big Band directed by Mark Armstrong with guest soloist Tim Garland. The judges were Tim Garland, Frank Griffith, Nikki Iles. The Prizes were presented by Alec and Emily Dankworth, representing the Dankworth family.

Ralph Wyld

The prize was instigated by Art Mead and is supported by the Worshipful Company of Musicians and the Wavendon Foundation


Saxophone: Damon Oliver, Max Hale. Lucinda Dunne, Hannah Washer, Zachary Schwartz

Trumpet: Gianni Bruno, Erika Curbelo, Elliot Phelps, Lewis West, Jack Wilson

Trombone: Gregory Huff, Christopher Ford, Matthew Smith, James Maund

Drum Kit: Max Mills
Guitar: Will Scott
Bass: Sam Hall
Keyboard: James Burrows
Directed by Mark Armstrong
Soloist: Tim Garland


Ladybird – Tadd Dameron (arr Maria Schneider)
The Maids of Cadiz – Leo Delibes (arr by Gil Evans)
Have You Heard? – Pat Metheny (arr Bob Curnow)
Barcarolle – Scott Chapman
Three And One – Thad Jones
Jasmine – Mark Armstrong


Continuum – Chris McMurran
Subterranea – Ralph Wyld
Quietude – Thad Jones
Young Blood – Gerry Mulligan The Jitterbug Waltz – Fats Waller (arr Eric Richards)
Carmelos by the Freeway – Bob Florence


2010 Prize Matt Roberts, Yuriy Galkin
2011 Prize Laura Jurd, Alex Roth
2012 Prize James Opstad, William Gibson 
2013 Prize Tom Green, Daniel Thorne 
2014 Prize Misha Mullov-Abbado, Andrew Woodhead

Categories: miscellaneous

1 reply »

Leave a Reply