NEWS: Winners at the 2015 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

L-R: Mark Armstrong (NYJO), Phil Meadows, Chris Hodgkins,
Sebastian Scotney, Norma Winstone, Laura Jurd, Michael Connarty (APPJAG)
Peter Edwards, Peter Ind, Lord Colwyn, Peter Leathem (PPL)
Photo Credit: Hayley Madden

The winners for the 2015 Parliamentary Awards were announced at tonight’s ceremony at the Houses of Parliament, sponsored by PPL and MC’d by Moira Stuart:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year (presented by Dame Cleo Laine):

Alice Zawadzki
Georgia Mancio
WINNER: Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane;

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year:

Jason Yarde
WINNER: Laura Jurd
Phil Robson

Jazz Album of the Year (presented by Peter Leathem of PPL):

WINNER: Partisans Swamp
Julian Argüelles Circularity
Tim Garland Songs to the North Sky

Jazz Ensemble of the Year (presented by Jamie Cullum):

WINNER: Engines Orchestra
Loose Tubes

Peter Edwards celebrating his Newcomer of the
Year Award with his father
Source: @pedwardsmusic/Twitter

Jazz Newcomer of the Year (presented by Kenneth Clarke MP):

Blue-Eyed Hawk
Elliot Galvin Trio
WINNER: Peter Edwards

Jazz Venue of the Year (presented by Lord Prescott):

Manchester Jazz Festival
Spice of Life
WINNER: St Ives Jazz Club

Jazz Media Award (presented by Elaine Delmar) :

Jazz on 3
WINNER: LondonJazz News
The Jazz Breakfast

Jazz Education Award (presented by Norman Baker MP):

Dr Tommy Smith,
WINNER: National Youth Jazz Orchestra
Simon Purcell

Services to Jazz Award (presented by Peter King):

WINNER: Chris Hodgkins
Evan Parker
Mike Gordon

Special Award (presented by Lord Colwyn and Michael Connarty MP)

Peter Ind

Categories: miscellaneous

6 replies »

  1. Brilliant! Well deserved for such open-minded and inclusive coverage of everything that's so good about the music, and for addressing all those important issues in between.

  2. Congratulationd Sebastian and team, hope you enjoyed a great night. From everybody at The Cinnamon Club

Leave a Reply