NEWS: Shortlists for JazzFM Awards Announced – three public vote categories now open

Winners – and others –  at the 2015 Awards Photo credit: JazzFM

Here is the full list of the Nominees for the 2016 Awards, announced this morning 24th February:

Breakthrough Act of the Year

Binker & Moses (LP REVIEW)
Jacob Collier

International Jazz Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Yamaha)

Kamasi Washington
Marcus Miller
Maria Schneider

Blues Artist of the Year

Alabama Shakes
Buddy Guy (Book review)
Gary Clark Jnr

Soul Artist of the Year

Jill Scott
Leon Bridges
Lizz Wright

Instrumentalist of the Year (Sponsored by Arqiva)

Mark Lockheart
Theon Cross
Zoe Rahman

Vocalist of the Year

Lauren Kinsella (INTERVIEW)
Liane Carroll (INTERVIEW)

Jazz Innovation of the Year (Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya)

Black Top
Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah
David Virelles

Digital Initiative of the Year (Sponsored by 7digital)

Jacob Collier (REVIEW)
Tin Men and the Telephone

Album of the Year (Public Vote now open)

Christian Scott ‘Stretch Music’
Hiatus Kiayote ‘Choose Your Weapon’
Kamasi Washington ‘The Epic’(REVIEW)
Maria Schneider ‘The Thompson Fields’ (REVIEW)
Charenee Wade ‘Offering’
Snarky Puppy ‘Sylva’(REVIEW)

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote now open – Sponsored by Grange Hotels)

Binker & Moses
Matthew Halsall (INTERVIEW)
Sons of Kemet (CD REVIEW)

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote now open)

Ice-T and Ron McCurdy – The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican (INTERVIEW)
Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham (Review of London Concert)
Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club Glasgow

Lifetime Achievement
(Sponsored by PPL)

To be announced in due course

SPONSORS/ ORGANIZERS: The Jazz FM Awards 2016 is a partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and is made possible with the support of Grange Hotels, Mishcon de Reya, PPL, Yamaha, Arqiva, 7digital, and Denbies Wine Estate.

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply