Two-time award winners Binker Golding and Moses Boyd
Image supplied by publicists AirMTM without citing any restrictions on usage

The JazzFM Awards were presented at the Bloomsbury Ballroom earlier this evening, and the winners were:

Breakthrough Act of the Year

WINNER: Binker & Moses

NOMINEES: Jacob Collier, Nerija

International Jazz Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Yamaha)

WINNER: Kamasi Washington

NOMINEES: Marcus Miller, Maria Schneider

Blues Artist of the Year

WINNER: Gary Clark Jnr

NOMINEES: Alabama Shakes, Buddy Guy

Soul Artist of the Year

WINNER: Jill Scott

NOMINEES: Leon Bridges, Lizz Wright

Instrumentalist of the Year (Sponsored by Arqiva)

WINNER: Mark Lockheart

NOMINEES: Theon Cross, Zoe Rahman

Vocalist of the Year

WINNER: Lauren Kinsella 

NOMINEES: Eska, Liane Carroll

Jazz Innovation of the Year (Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya)

WINNER: Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah

NOMINEES: Black Top, David Virelles

Digital Initiative of the Year (Sponsored by 7digital)

WINNER: Jacob Collier 

NOMINEES: Chassol, Tin Men and the Telephone

Album of the Year (Public Vote – Sponsored by Arqiva)

WINNER: Hiatus Kiayote ‘Choose Your Weapon’

NOMINEES: Christian Scott ‘Stretch Music’
Kamasi Washington ‘The Epic’
Maria Schneider ‘The Thompson Fields’
Charenee Wade ‘Offering’
Snarky Puppy ‘Sylva’

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Sponsored by Grange Hotels)

WINNER: Binker & Moses

NOMINEES: Matthew Halsall, Sons of Kemet

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)

WINNER: Ice-T and Ron McCurdy – The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican

Nominees: Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham
Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club Glasgow

Impact Award

Gregory Porter

Lifetime Achievement (Sponsored by PPL)

Quincy Jones

SPONSORS/ ORGANIZERS: The Jazz FM Awards 2016 is a partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and is made possible with the support of Grange Hotels, Mishcon De Reya, PPL, RCS, 7digital, Yamaha, Arqiva, Pink Pepper Gin, Fever Tree and Denbies Wine Estate.

Categories: miscellaneous

1 reply »

  1. We're so proud of Binker and Moses and what they've already achieved in such a short space of time since the Dem Ones LP was released on 29 May 2015. Take a deep breath, now the hard work really starts!

    Darrel, Adam, Justin, Caspar & Alan.

Leave a Reply