NEWS: 2017 NEA Jazz Masters Announced (Dave Holland, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Dr Lonnie Smith…)

Dave Holland after his solo recital the Wigmore Hall in 2015

The 2017 National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Jazz Masters have just been announced. Each receives a $25,000 award. They will all be honoured at a tribute concert to be held on Monday, 3rd April 2017 at the Concert Hall of the The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington DC.

The five recipients are:

Dee Dee Bridgewater
Ira Gitler
Dave Holland
Dick Hyman
Dr. Lonnie Smith

The 2016 NEA Jazz Masters were Gary Burton; musicians’ advocate Wendy Oxenhorn, Pharoah Sanders and Archie Shepp, and a video of their winners concert is HERE.

LINK: NEA Jazz Masters at the NEA website

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s