NEWS: German ECHO JAZZ Award Winners Announced

Eva Kruse
Photo credit: Bibbie Friman

The winners of the 2017 ECHO JAZZ Awards have just been announced: 

German Awards

Ensemble: Joachim Kühn New Trio
Singer: Lucia Cadotsch
Bass/ Bass Guitar: Eva Kruse
Brass instrument: Frederik Köster
Sax / Woodwinds: Daniel Erdmann
Drums Percussion: Diego Piñera
Piano/Keyboards: Michael Wollny
Guitar : Arne Jansen
Newcomer: Anna-Lena Schnabel

International Awards

Singer: Norah Jones
Ensemble: Branford Marsalis Quartet
Drums / Percussion: Antonio Sanchez
Saxophone/ Woodwind: Émile Parisien
Piano/ Keyboards Kenny Barron
Bass: Lars Danielsson
Brass instrument: Cuong Vu
Guitar: Charlie Hunter
Other instrument: Vincent Peirani
Large Ensemble: Marius Neset & London Sinfonietta
Bestseller: Gregory Porter

Special Prizes

American Jazz Heroes
E.S.T. Symphony

Further information and full details of the albums –  www.echojazz.de

The awards ceremony will be on 1st June 2017 at the Blohm+Voss shipyard in Hamburg.

ECHO JAZZ is a joint production by the Deutsche Phono-Akademie, and the Kulturinstitut des Bundesverbandes Musikindustrie (BVMI)

LINKS: Our first mention of Anna-Lena Schnabel as a member of BuJazzO in 2012

CD Review of Frederik Koester Die Verwandlung

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply