NEWS: Nominees for 2018 JazzFM Awards announced

Cecile McLorin Salvant
Photo credit: Paul Wood

The2018 JazzFM Awards nominees have just been announced. The winners will be announced and the ceremony will take place at Shoreditch Town Hall on International Jazz Day on 30th April. 

More artists to perform at the event will be announced later but it has been confirmed that Cecile McLorin Salvant will perform at the awards ceremony, which will be hosted by Jazz FM presenters Chris Philips and Jez Nelson. Musical Director at the event will be pianist Ashley Henry.

The press release states:

“The recipients of the special award categories – PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, PRS For Music Gold Award and Impact Award – will be announced ahead of the ceremony. In  previous years, these special award-winners have included Oscar-winning film director Damien Chazelle, Georgie Fame, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter and the late Hugh Masekela.”

Public voting is open now at www.jazzfmawards.com and will close on Monday 2 April.


 Breakthrough Act of the Year

Ezra Collective
Nubya Garcia
Rob Luft

Soul Artist of the Year – Sponsored by RCS

Jordan Rakei
Leroy Hutson

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote) – Sponsored by Cambridge Audio

Ezra Collective
Kansas Smitty’s House Band

Digital Initiative of the Year

Esperanza Spalding: Exposure
Jacob Collier: I Harm U
Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club: Live Streaming

Instrumentalist of the Year – Sponsored by Grange Hotels

Evan Parker
Theon Cross
Yazz Ahmed

Blues Artist of the Year

Lucky Peterson
Taj Mahal & Keb’ Mo’
Robert Cray

Jazz Innovation of the Year – Sponsored by Mishcon De Reya

Carleen Anderson: Cage Street Memorial
Joe Armon-Jones and Maxwell Owin: Idiom
Shabaka Hutchings

Vocalist of the Year – Sponsored by Lateralise

Alice Zawadzki
Liane Carroll
Zara McFarlane

International Jazz Artist of the Year – Sponsored by Oris Watches

Cécile McLorin Salvant
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah

Album of the Year (Public Vote) – Sponsored by Arqiva

Blue Note All-Stars – Our Point of View
Cécile McLorin Salvant – Dreams and Daggers
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah – Diaspora
Denys Baptiste – The Late Trane
Phronesis – The Behemoth
Thundercat – Drunk

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote) – Sponsored by Rathbones

A Concert for Alice and John – Pharoah Sanders Quartet, Denys Baptiste and Alina Bzhezhinska – EFG London Jazz Festival at The Barbican

An evening with Dave Holland – Ambleside Days Festival at Zeffirellis Cinema

Jazz Re:Fest at Southbank Centre

Makaya McCraven featuring Theon Cross Trio and Jaimie Branch Fly or Die Ensemble –

CHICAGOXLONDON Day 1 at Total Refreshment Centre

Randolph Matthews – Jazz in the Round at Love Supreme Festival

Ronnie Scott’s presents Ezra Collective – EFG London Jazz Festival at Islington Assembly Hall

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award


Impact Award


PRS For Music Gold Award


NOTE: The Jazz FM Awards 2018 is a partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and is made possible with the support of Mishcon De Reya, PPL, PRS For Music, Rathbones, Oris Watches, Grange Hotels, Lateralize, Arqiva, Yamaha, RCS, Shoreditch Town Hall, Cambridge Audio, Denbies Wine Estate, Warsteiner, Sharpstream and British Airways.

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply