NEWS: Programme for North Sea Jazz Festival 2018 takes shape with more new names (13-15 July)

David Sanborn
Publicity picture
More names have been added to the programme for the North Sea Jazz Festival (13-15 July 2018). Peter Bacon browses.

The customary rich variety of what is on offer in Rotterdam during the weekend of the North Sea Jazz Festival continues to expand with the latest tranche of names just released to the media.

Among the new additions are David Sanborn’s Acoustic Band, Jasper Høiby’s Fellow Creatures, Tord Gustavsen’s band featuring Simin Tander, Nate Smith’s KINFOLK, the Ramón Valle Trio, Keyon Harrold, The Roots, the Mike Stern/Randy Brecker Band, Jazzmeia Horn, Moses Boyd’s Exodus and Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals.

Added names from the UK are Sons of Kemet, GoGo Penguin and Nubya Garcia. Other additions are BADBADNOTGOOD from Canada and Rohey from Norway.

The full line-up now looks, somewhat overwhelmingly, like this:

Friday 13 July
Artist in Residence: Michael League & Snarky Puppy with Metropole Orkest conducted by Jules Buckley
The Roots + Friends
The O’Jays
Emeli Sandé
Charles Lloyd and the Marvels
Gary Clark Jr.
Marcus Miller
R + R = NOW with Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin, Christian Scott, Taylor McFerrin, Derick Hodge and Justin Tyson
Carla Bley Trio
Vijay Iyer Sextet
Stanley Clarke Band
Kurt Elling Quintet with special guest Marquis Hill
Willie Colon
Maria Schneider & Ensemble Denada
Ruthie Foster with Espoo Big Band
Tord Gustavsen featuring Simin Tander
Cameron Graves Trio
Jasper Høiby’s Fellow Creatures
Jérôme Hol
Hannah Williams & The Affirmations
Durand Jones & The Indications

Saturday 14 July
Artist in Residence: Michael League, (Michael) League (Antonio) Sanchez (Pedrito) Martinez
Nile Rodgers & CHIC
Earth Wind & Fire
Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals
Leon Bridges
Gregory Porter “Nat King Cole & Me and Other Songs” with Metropole Orkest
Jett Rebel
JP Cooper
GoGo Penguin
Sons of Kemet
Nubya Garcia
Pharoah Sanders Quartet
Moses Boyd Exodus
Pat Metheny w/ Antonio Sanchez, Linda Oh & Gwilym Simcock
Philip Catherine
Mingus Big Band
Fred Hersch Trio
Chico Freeman Plus+tet
The Quartet.NL – Herman / Beets / Bennink / Glerum
David Sanborn Acoustic Band
Con Brio
Nate Smith KINFOLK
Jazzmeia Horn
Robert Finley
Dulfer Plays Blues
Togo All Stars

Sunday 15 July
Artist in Residence: Michael League & Bokanté with special guests
Moses Sumney
Aloe Blacc
CeeLo Green
Selah Sue
Joshua Redman special guest with Billy Hart Quartet
Hudson – DeJohnette/Scofield/Medeski/Colley
‘Queen of Sheba’ Symphonic Creation by Angelique Kidjo and Ibrahim Maalouf
Cecile McLorin Salvant
Mathias Eick Quintet
Ruben Blades & Roberto Delgado Orquestra
Caminando. Adios Y Gracias
Oumou Sangaré
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Eric Vloeimans’ Levanter
Avishai Cohen ‘1970’
Mulatu Astatke
Daymé Arocena
Ruben Hein, Coely and Laurence Jones
Stern/Randy Brecker Band featuring Dennis Chambers & Tom Kennedy
Harold Lopez Nussa Trio with Pedrito Martinez and Gregoire Maret
Mulatu Astatke
Keyon Harrold
Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom
Ramón Valle Trio

North Sea Jazz Festival 2018 runs from 13 to 15 July and takes place at the Ahoy Centre in Rotterdam which can be reached in less than an hour by plane or, for the first time this year, the twice-daily train direct from London St Pancras International to Rotterdam Centraal, taking just 3hrs from city centre to city centre.

Headline sponsor NN is an insurance and asset management company headquartered in Den Haag, with the main brand Nationale-Nederlanden

Day tickets for NN North Sea Jazz Festival are on sale now and all-in tickets are available from the end of April at www.northseajazz.com/en/tickets.

LINK: NN North Sea Jazz Festival website

Categories: miscellaneous

Leave a Reply