NEWS: Voting now open for the 2018 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Claude Monet: London, Houses of Parliament. 
The Sun Shining through the Fog (1904)
Public Domain
Sebastian reports:

Voting is now open for the 2018 (APPJAG) Parliamentary Jazz Awards. Entries are open to anyone with the final deadline for entries set for 12 noon on Wednesday 4 July 2018.

The full process of nomination and selection is explained on the APPJAG site, which is administered by Chris Hodgkins. This is an extract.

“The first round is by public nomination for the categories. The 2017 Awards received 3250 nominations.
The second round is the short listing process by a panel made up from the jazz constituency. The panel includes, promoters, musicians, journalists, the media, people from jazz education and managers”

For reference, here are LJN’s Bands/Musicians of the Year and Albums of the Year for 2017.

The awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday 16 October at PizzaExpress Live (Holborn).

Categories are:

Jazz Album of the Year (released in 2017 by a UK band or musicians)

Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist who impressed in 2017)

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician who impressed in 2017)

Jazz Ensemble of the Year (UK-based group who impressed in 2017)

Jazz Venue of the Year (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)

Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books)

Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)

Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released in 2017)

Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK).

LINK: Voting in the awards (a sign-up to Pizza Express music emails is mandatory)
Last year’s winners

Categories: News

Leave a Reply