NEWS: Nominations for the 2018 Parliamentary Jazz Awards Announced (Full List)

The 2016 Winners
Photo credit: Hayley Madden

This year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday 16 October at Pizza Express Live in Holborn and the nominees have just been announced:


Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist):

Liane Carroll
Georgia Mancio
Zara McFarlane
Ian Shaw

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician):

Rob Luft
Arun Ghosh
Ross Stanley

Jazz Album of the Year (released by a UK band or musicians):

Arun Ghosh – But Where Are You Really From?
Denys Baptiste – The Late Trane
Gareth Lockrane Big Band – Fistfight At The Barndance

Jazz Ensemble of the Year:

Ezra Collective
ARQ – Alison Rayner Quartet
Beats & Pieces Big Band

Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released):

Fergus McCreadie
Sarah Tandy
Shirley Tetteh

Jazz Venue of the Year: (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)

Jazz Re:Freshed
Jazz At The Lescar
South Coast Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books):

Richard Williams
Kevin Le Gendre
Lance Liddle (Bebop Spoken Here)

Jazz Education Award: (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)

Pete Churchill
Jean Toussaint
Nikki Iles

Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK):

Blow The Fuse – Alison Rayner and Deirdre Cartwright
Jill Rodger – Glasgow Jazz Festival
Gary Crosby
Gill Wilde – Grimsby Jazz

Kelvin Hopkins MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said:

“These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 14th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony at Pizza Express Live and we are extremely grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event and for Peroni for sponsoring the event.”

LINK: Parliamentary Jazz Awards at Pizza Express

Categories: News

Leave a Reply