NEWS: 2018 Parliamentary Jazz Award winners

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: ARQ (from left): Diane McLoughlin, Buster Birch,
 Alison Rayner, Steve Lodder and Deirdre Cartwright
Publicity picture
Peter Bacon reports:

The winners of the 2018 Parliamentary Jazz Awards were announced last night at a special shindig at Plzza Express’s Holborn jazz club. The awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live.

And the winners are:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Ian Shaw
Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Arun Ghosh
Jazz Album of the Year: Denys Baptiste – The Late Trane
Jazz Ensemble of the Year: ARQ – Alison Rayner Quintet
Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Shirley Tetteh
Jazz Venue of the Year: Jazz At The Lescar in Sheffield
Jazz Media Award: Lance Liddle – Bebop Spoken Here
Jazz Education Award: Jean Toussaint
Services to Jazz Award: Jill Rodger
Special APPJAG Award: Gary Crosby OBE

Kelvin Hopkins MP, APPJAG Co-Chairman, said: “The Parliamentary Jazz Awards are a great way for MPs and Peers of all political parties to show their support for British jazz by recognising and honouring the amazing musical talent we have in our country. From established stars to fresh new talent, the range and diversity of this year’s winners shows the vibrancy and creativity of British jazz. We are extremely grateful once again to PizzaEpress Live for supporting the Awards.”

Compére for the evening was Ross Dines of PizzaExpress Live, “This has been a really strong year for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards in terms of talent and nominations. The well deserved recipients are a veritable who’s who of names that have made a real impact on the music and helped make the UK one of the world’s leading jazz territories”.

The Parliamentary Band on the evening comprised Max Brittain, Alison Rayner, Henry Lowther, Fraser Smith and Sophie Alloway.

Full list of 2018 Parliamentary Jazz Award nominees

Categories: News

Leave a Reply