NEWS: Finalists announced in 2019 Jazz World Photo competition (Trutnov, Czech Republic)

Roscoe Mitchell (foreground) and Don Moye. Berlin 2018
Photo credit and © Ralf Dombrowski
Sebastian writes:

The jurors of the 2019 Jazz World Photo competition have announced the 30 finalists, out of a total of 353 entrants. The winners will be announced on 23 March 2019 at the Jazzinec Festival in Trutnov, Czech Republic.

We at LJN are particularly pleased to see the name of our regular contributor RALF DOMBROWSKI among the finalists. He was chosen for his picture of Roscoe Mitchell (above). Describing the photo, Ralf writes: “The photo was taken at the rehearsal for the Art Ensemble’s concert during Jazzfest Berlin 2018. I was hopping around between chairs because I really wanted to get Don in the background… luckily it worked out.”

The link below is to a photo gallery displaying all of the shortlisted entries.

The finalists come from the following countries: Italy (9), Poland (5), France (4),Ukraine (2), Austria (2) and Germany, Argentina, Turkey,Chile, US, Greece, Slovenia, Czech Republic (1 each)

The competition was set up by Patrick Marek in 2013. Pictures have to have been taken during the calendar year prior to the competition. Past winners were: Didier Jallais, France (2014 and 2018), Andrea Rotili, Italy (2015), Marion Tisserand, France (2016), Oleg Panov (2017). The shortlisted pictures constitute a touring exhibition, and the winners receive a trophy designed by Jan Činčera


Adriano Bellucci
Gérard Boisnel
Mariusz Buczma
Roberto Cifarelli
Arturo Di Vita
Ralf Dombrowski
Serhiy Horobets
Jiří Hrbek
Aleksandra Kasztalska
Marcin Masalski
Adriana Mateo
Flavia Matta
William Monaco
Resul Muslu
Sandro Niboli
Sascha Osaka
Oleg Panov (past winner)
Sobiesław Pawlikowski
Didier Peron
Jože Požrl
Pablo Reyes
Rainer A. Rygalyk
Don Saban
Fabrizio Sodani
Antonio Sollazzo
Didier Taberlet
Pierre Vignacq
Kostas Voultsidis
Jaroslaw Wierzbicki
Alessandro Ziantoni

LINK: World Jazz Photo site with  photo gallery and details of all the 2019 finalists

Categories: News

Leave a Reply