2019 Parliamentary Jazz Awards Open for Public Nominations

A Press Release issued this morning by Chris Hodgkins states:

“Voting is now open for the 2019 Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which will take place at PizzaExpress Live, Holborn, London on Tuesday 3 December 2019.

Entries are open to anyone with the final deadline for entries set for midnight on Friday 31st May 2019.”



Jazz Album of the Year (released in 2018 by a UK band or musicians)
Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist who impressed in 2018)
Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician who impressed in 2018)
Jazz Ensemble of the Year (UK-based group who impressed in 2018)
Jazz Venue of the Year (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)
Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books)
Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)
Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released in 2018)
Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK).

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2018 winners

Jazz Vocalist Of The Year – Ian Shaw
Jazz Instrumentalist Of The Year – Arun Ghosh
Jazz Album Of The Year – Denys Baptiste – “The Late Trane”
Jazz Ensemble Of The Year – ARQ – Alison Rayner Quintet
Jazz Newcomer Of The Year – Shirley Tetteh
Jazz Venue/Promoter Of The Year – Jazz At The Lescar in Sheffield
Jazz Media Award – Lance Liddle (Bebop Spoken Here)
Jazz Education Award – Jean Toussaint
Services To Jazz Award – Jill Rodger
Special APPJAG Award – Gary Crosby OBE

The awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), co-chaired by Kelvin Hopkins MP and Lord Colwyn, and supported by PizzaExpress Live.

 LINKS: Full Text of Press Release
More about APPJAG

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s