Nominees for JazzFM Awards 2020 announced

The nominations for the Jazz FM Awards 2020, produced by Serious, have been announced today. The JazzFM Awards website states that the winners will be announced on 27 May.    Public voting is open now in three categories at and will close on Wednesday 15th April at 23:59.  CATEGORIES BREAKTHROUGH ACT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Cambridge Audio Rosie Turton Xhosa Cole Yelfris Valdés THE DIGITAL AWARD Sponsored by Oanda Chiminyo Jacob Collier Jazz re:freshed THE INNOVATION AWARD Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya Jazz re:freshed Moses Boyd Sarathy Korwar INSTRUMENTALIST OF THE YEAR  Sponsored by Hampstead Jazz Club Binker Golding Mark Kavuma Shirley Tetteh INTERNATIONAL JAZZ ACT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Saint Lucia Wellness Festival Branford Marsalis Charles Lloyd Kris Davis SOUL ACT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by British Airways Anderson .Paak Celeste Philip Bailey BLUES ACT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Blue Orchid Hotels Keb’ Mo’ Gary Clark Jr. Jon Cleary VOCALIST OF THE YEAR Alice Zawadzki Georgia Cécile Judi Jackson PRS For Music UK JAZZ ACT OF THE YEAR – PUBLIC VOTE Joe Armon-Jones SEED Ensemble Yazz Ahmed ALBUM OF THE YEAR   Sponsored by Arqiva – – PUBLIC VOTE  Ashley Henry – Beautiful Vinyl Hunter Binker Golding – Abstractions of Reality Past and Incredible Feathers Branford Marsalis Quartet – The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul Jazzmeia Horn – Love and Liberation SEED Ensemble – Drift Glass Yazz Ahmed – Polyhymnia VENUE OF THE YEAR  – PUBLIC VOTE Band on the Wall, Manchester Church of Sound Love Supreme Festival Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club The Verdict, Brighton Vortex, Dalston There are also three special awards, the Impact Award, Gold Award and the PPL Lifetime Achievement Award – details still to be announced. The Jazz FM Awards are produced by Serious and made possible with support from PRS for Music, PPL, Mishcon de Reya, Hampstead Jazz Club, Saint Lucia Wellness Festival, Cambridge Audio, Arqiva, Oanda, British Airways, Shoreditch Town Hall, Yamaha UK, Blue Orchid Hotels and Saville Row Gin.

Categories: News

2 replies »

  1. Anyone who complains about the British Jazz Awards nominating the same musicians from the same scene year after year should add the Jazz FM Awards to the same discussion – essentially the jazz refreshed/Gilles Peterson crew. It’s literally the same people and scene every year. There are so many more musicians who make up the UK scene creating incredible music, they really doing a disservice to the wealth of talent in the UK. Not to mention predictable and dare I say boring.

Leave a Reply