Winners at the Danish Music Awards Jazz 2020

Last night, 12 November 2020, the Bremen Theatre in Copenhagen hosted the Danish Music Awards Jazz 2020. In this celebration of Danish jazz there were musical performances, awards and speeches.  Eight awards and two scholarships were announced: Sinne Eeg won Vocal Jazz Album of the Year for We’ve Just Begun with The Danish Radio Big Band. (Photo by Marie Hald) This Year’s Winners: Jazz Album of the Year Maluba Orchestra – Maluba Orchestra (Sundance Music & Stunt Records) Jazz Composer of the Year Laurits Hyllested – Darling River (AMP Music & Records) Experiment of the Year Maria Faust Sacrum Facere – ORGAN (Sundance Music & Stunt Records) Vocal Jazz Album of the Year Sinne Eeg & The Danish Radio Big Band – We’ve Just Begun (Sundance Music & Stunt Records) New Name of the Year Nikola Bankov – Bright Future (AMP Music & Records) Kid’s Jazz Award Jorden Rundt and Malene Kjærgaard JazzDanmark Award Mai Seidelin and Johan Bylling Lang for Copenhagen Harbour Parade P8 Jazz Award Nana Pi Aabo Larsen

Anton Eger at the Vortex in 2018. Photo by Monika S. Jakubowska

Musician of the Year Anton Eger Orchestra of the Year All Too Human Danish Music Awards Jazz 2020 is funded by the Beckett Foundation, the William Demant Foundation, the Danish Arts Foundation, and JazzDanmark in collaboration with TV2 Lorry, DR P8 Jazz, and Bremen Teater Rewatch or re-listen to the show on both TV2 Lorry and DR P8 Jazz in the near future.

Leave a Reply