Nikki Iles, Zoe Rahman, Cleveland Watkiss, Caroline Kraabel win Ivors Awards

Among the ten Ivor Novello Awards announced at the Ivors Composer Awards 2021 in a ceremony at the British Museum on 8 December 2021 were:

Nikki Iles – ‘The Caged Bird’ – Award for Jazz Composition. The Ivors Academy jury for this category referred to the piece as “beautifully crafted, balanced and realised”.

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


Pete Churchill accepting the Jazz Composition on behalf of Nikki Iles. Photo by Mark Allan

Cleveland Watkiss MBE – the Innovation Award. Watkiss was described by The Ivors Academy as “unique globally and in the annuals of British Jazz and contemporary music, uncategorisable”.

Julian Joseph (Chair of The Ivors Academy’s Awards Committee and Fellow of the Academy) presents Cleveland Watkiss with the Ivors Innovation Award. Photo by Mark Allan

Zoe Rahman – The Impact Award. The Ivors Academy described Rahman as “one of Britain’s most powerful compositional voices and important contemporary artists who puts a spotlight on Jazz from the UK as an international musical force.”

Zoe Rahman at The Ivors Composer Awards. Photo by Mark Allan

Caroline Kraabel won the award for Sound Art for Imitation: Inversion’

The jury said the work “captured something of the zeitgeist of the time” and was “an inventive and humorous translation from real world sounds to instrumental sounds, revealing connections between the organic and the mechanical”.

Caroline Kraabel with Yazz Ahmed. Photo by Mark Allan

LINK: The full list of winners and the press release

Categories: News

1 reply »

Leave a Reply