Video Exclusives

Dearest Sister (Sweden) sign to ACT / new single released today, album in November

The ACT label is announcing today that the Swedish band Dearest Sister is the latest addition to its family of artists.

Dearest Sister (L-R: Joakim Lissmyr, Ellen Pettersson, Andrea Hatanmaa, Ylva Almcrantz & Liam Amner). Publicity photo.

At the core of Swedish band Dearest Sister is the creative partnership between Andrea Hatanmaa, the band’s lead vocalist, and Ylva Almcrantz, the pianist/arranger. The duo met while studying in Sweden at the Malmö Academy of Music and bring contrasting influences, from rock and pop to jazz, which combine in the band’s sound. They are joined by bassist Joakim Lissmyr, drummer Liam Amner and flugelhornist Ellen Pettersson.

They borrow their name from the book “Allrakäraste Syster”, a story about two sisters who experience magical adventures in a secret land by Swedish children’s author Astrid Lindgren, bringing into focus the special bond between the two women at the helm of this ensemble.

Their first single “Leave me be” is released today 20 May on all streaming services & YouTube, followed by more singles and a digital EP throughout the next months. 

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


Dearest Sister’s debut album on ACT, Collective Heart will be released on 11 November 2022 and will include additional guest Petter Hängsel on trombone, as well as French horn players Erik Rönér and Thomas Lunderquist.

LINK: ACT website

Leave a Reply