Fergus McCreadie to become 8th BBC Radio 3 New Generation (jazz) artist

BBC Radio 3 have announced today the next cohort of participants in their New Generation Artists scheme. Pianist Fergus McCreadie becomes the eighth jazz musician to join the scheme (full list of the others below).

Fergus McCreadie. Photo credit Dave Stapleton

The new cohort of musicians will join the scheme from September 2022, and will remain on it until December 2024. In addition to Fergus McCreadie, the others announced today are accordionist and fellow Scott Ryan Corbett, countertenor, Hugh Cutting from England, Colombian cellist Santiago Cañón-Valencia, the Leonkoro (String) Quartet from Berlin who have just won the Wigmore Hall and Bordeaux competitions, New Zealand-born violinist Geneva Lewis and South African soprano Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha.

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


Fergus McCreadie says:

“It’s a fantastic honour to be chosen as part of this prestigious scheme. As a musician you see these things happening to other people, never expecting to be chosen yourself. So it’s amazing to join a list of previous and current New Generation Artists who are so, so talented.”


Young performers from four continents join BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme in September 2022

BBC Radio 3 celebrates a truly international line-up of New Generation Artists, as it announces the names of the performers joining the station’s prestigious talent development scheme in September 2022. They will remain on it until December 2024.

Featuring some of the world’s most promising young soloists and ensembles, each on the threshold of a major international career, the New Generation Artists joining the scheme this year hail from four continents, and include for the first time in its history an accordionist, Ryan Corbett from Scotland, and a countertenor, Hugh Cutting from England. The other New Generation Artists 2022-2024 are Colombian cellist Santiago Cañón-Valencia, the Berlin-based Leonkoro Quartet, New Zealand-born violinist Geneva Lewis, Scottish jazz pianist Fergus McCreadie, and South African soprano Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha.

These performers join the New Generation Artists who have been on the scheme since 2021, and remain on it until December 2023: British-Israeli pianist Tom Borrow, British mezzo-soprano Helen Charlston, Spanish violinist María Dueñas, German-Romanian baritone Konstantin Krimmel, Indian-American collaborative pianist Kunal Lahiry, the London-based Mithras Trio, and British bass William Thomas.

Alan Davey, Controller BBC Radio 3 and classical music  says: “It is a privilege for Radio 3 to be providing performance and broadcast opportunities to young artists as they embark on their international careers. This year, we are particularly proud that the New Generation Artists joining the scheme showcase a variety of instruments and voices and come from many corners of the world. This  means that our audiences can experience and discover a variety of music by encountering these inspiring young performers. We hope listeners will enjoy witnessing these young artists as they push boundaries, evolve, and leave their own personal mark on the art of music.”

The New Generation Artists scheme highlights Radio 3’s ongoing commitment to developing and nurturing young talent. Launched in 1999, it supports young musicians at the beginning of their international careers with performance opportunities in London and around the UK. These include solo recitals, performances with the BBC orchestras, and appearances at some of the UK’s most prestigious venues and festivals, including the BBC Proms, Cheltenham Festival, Edinburgh International Festival, London’s Wigmore Hall, the Ulster Hall, and Snape Maltings among many others. Through broadcasts on Radio 3 these rising stars are heard by listeners all over the UK, and across Europe through the European Broadcasting Union.” BBC PRESS RELEASE ENDS


  • Guitarist Rob Luft (2019-2021)
  • Bassist Misha Mullov- Abbado (2017-19)
  • Trumpeter Laura Jurd (2015-17)
  • Saxophonist Trish Clowes (2012-2014)
  • Clarinettist/saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings (2010-12)
  • Trumpeter Tom Arthurs (2008-10)
  • Pianist Gwilym Simcock (2006-08)

Categories: News

Leave a Reply