Nominees announced for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Nominations are announced for the APPJG/ Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022. The awards will be on 5 July. Congratulations to all the nominees.

Nominated for Services to Jazz. L-R: Dave Green, Mike Westbrook, Help Musicians, Nigel Price

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Claire Martin

Emma Smith

Brigitte Beraha

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


Jo Harrop

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Tony Kofi

Xhosa Cole

Fergus McCreadie

Jazz Album of the Year

Matt Ridley “The Antidote”

Daniel Casimir “Boxed In”

Jo Harrop “The Heart Wants”

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Kansas Smitty’s House Band

Black Top

Nikki Iles Jazz Orchestra

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Deschanel Gordon  

Alex Clarke

Emma Rawicz

Chelsea Carmichael

Jazz Venue of the Year

Toulouse Lautrec

The Globe, Newcastle upon Tyne

The Verdict, Brighton

Jazz Media Award

The Jazz Podcast

London Jazz News(*)

Jane Cornwell

Jazz Education Award

Jazz Camp For Girls – Helena Summerfield

Nikki Yeoh

Pete Churchill

Services to Jazz Award

Mike Westbrook

Help Musicians

Dave Green

Nigel Price


Nominations announced for the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022

The nominations have today been announced for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live. The recipients of the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022.

The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.The award categories reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene: Jazz Vocalist of the Year; Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year; Jazz Album of the Year; Jazz Ensemble of the Year; Jazz Newcomer of the Year; Jazz Venue of the Year; Jazz Media Award; Jazz Education Award; and the Services to Jazz Award.

Following the online public vote for the Awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel, that represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their passion and knowledge of jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG), will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022.John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJG, said: “These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who helped keep jazz flourishing.  These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 17th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.” (Text ends)

(*) Thank you to all those who have played a part in this, LJN’s eighth nomination for this award.

Categories: News

1 reply »

Leave a Reply