Emma Rawicz signs to ACT Music (new album ‘Chroma’ for release 25 August)

Emma Rawicz. Photo credit. Gregor Hohenberg/ ACT

Emma Rawicz (21…!) has signed to ACT Music. Her first album for the label is called “Chroma”, the title a reference to her synaesthesia, and all of the tracks are named after little-known colours.

Her band is drummer/percussionist Asaf Sirkis (also briefly on vocals), pianist Ivo Neame, bassist Conor Chaplin, guitarist Ant Law and vocalist Immy Churchill. Emma plays tenor saxophone, and also soprano sax, flute and bass clarinet on specific tracks. The album was recorded at Livingston Studios in June 2022 and mixed by Sonny Johns.

Not yet a subscriber of our Wednesday Breakfast Headlines?
Join the mailing list for a weekly roundup of Jazz News.


The first single “Phlox” is released today 14 April (Spotify link below) , and the album release date will be 25 August.

Album cover / ACT

Emma wrote on her Facebook yesterday afternoon:

“i’ve been sitting on this news for a while and i’m incredibly excited to share that i have just signed with the amazing Actmusic for the release of my forthcoming album “chroma”!! what is more, the first single is out tonight at midnight!!

it’s a real honour to start working with this wonderful label — and wild that i’m now officially “labelmates” with some real heroes of mine.

this album features some of my best friends, biggest inspirations and favourite people. i hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it.” (quote ends.)

LINKS: Emma Rawicz website

News story on the ACT website

“Phlox” on Spotify

Categories: News

Tagged as: ,

3 replies »

Leave a Reply